New Zealand Map – Digital ( Social Studies )

Welcome back to my blog! In our social studies class today, we learned about New Zealand and had a fun activity of creating a map of the country. To begin with, we created a paper map of New Zealand, which helped us understand the different features of the country such as bays, mountains, seas, and more. After completing the paper map, we moved on to creating a digital version of the map. It was a great learning experience for me.

 

Paper Task –

For the paper task, we were given a map of New Zealand. We had to follow the instructions and write down the names of the places given. At first, we had to guess where the place was located on the map. We also had to colour the different sections with different colours. Once we filled the sheet of paper, we moved on to the digital task.

Digital Task –

For our digital project, we had to recreate the map of New Zealand that we had previously drawn on paper, but this time on our Chromebooks. It was an easy task to do because we had all the necessary tools and we just needed to put in the effort to complete it. Personally, I used Google Drawings to complete this task.

 

Reflection –

Things about Google Drawing and what went well –

Google Drawings is this really cool website that lets you make drawings and pictures! It’s totally free and you can use it to make maps and diagrams. I used it in class to make a digital map of New Zealand. It was so easy to use and had all these cool tools to make my map look super cool. You could add colours and labels to show different features of New Zealand, like mountains and seas. I loved using Google Drawings for our project and can’t wait to use it again!

 

What didn’t go well –

One issue I found while using the platform was with the arrows. They were difficult to handle, especially in the small and tight spaces of the map. Also, my mouse had trouble placing the arrows exactly where I wanted them to go. My mousepad made the task even more challenging. However, after some effort, I was eventually able to place the arrows in a suitable location.

 

What did I learn –

I learned about all these new locations on the map. The names were super interesting and I never actually heard of them before. It was a whole new thing for me.

 

Here is my Map –

Thank you for taking the time to read this blog post. I hope you found it informative and enjoyable.

Shreeya

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *